EU - Lorenzo Natali Media Prize 2017

Call Deadline
10 Mar 2017
European Commission


The Lorenzo Natali Media Prize is awarded to amateur and professional journalists for outstanding reporting on development and poverty eradication.

Two types of journalists can enter the Lorenzo Natali Media Prize: professional journalists and amateur journalists. The eligibility criteria for both types are defined hereunder:

Professional journalist:

  • Holder of a valid press card (national press card, or press card issued by the International Federation of Journalists); and/or
  • Journalism must be their main source of income; and/or
  • Member of a journalism trade union.

Amateur journalist:

  • Do not comply with the above criteria to enter as professional journalists.

To enter, professional and amateur journalists must upload their own original journalistic work—either individually or, for jointly authored or produced items, as a group. A piece can be submitted together with up to ten associated participants. The entire application of this news item with associated participants will be considered as one entry.

The participants must be the authors and holders of the copyright and the moral rights of their work. Plagiarism, which includes the unauthorised use of the language and thoughts of another author and the representation of them as one's own, will result in disqualification. All entries must have been published (print or online), broadcasted or have appeared in an agency dispatch for the first time between 11 March 2016 and 10 March 2017.

Written stories (article, online piece, or blog) should be a maximum of 1000 words. There is no minimum length requirement.

Audio-visual work (TV and radio) should not be longer than 10 minutes. If the size of the audio-visual work exceeds the upload capacity of the application form, please share a link to the piece on YouTube or another platform.

Beneficiaries and Aims

Enterprise Category
Non Applicabile
Sociale - No Profit - Altro
Sociale - Cooperazione
Places to Invest
  • Europe

Incentives and Expenses

Tipology of Incentive
Premi e Borse

Winners will be announced during an Award ceremony during the European Development Days in June 2017 in Brussels. There will be up to 12 winners: ten winners for the development and poverty eradication theme (five amateurs and five professionals) as well as two winners for the special prize on freedom of religion or belief. The 12 winners will receive a trophy and prize of €5 000. One of the 12 winners will also be awarded a Grand Prize for the best piece of journalism. The Grand Prize winner will receive in addition a trophy and €5 000.

The European Commission will cover the cost of the winners’ travel to Brussels for the Award ceremony (in the case of jointly authored or produced items, please note that only one person will be funded).

The winners are responsible for paying any and all taxes due on prize money awarded.


Submission of applications to the 2017 Lorenzo Natali Media Prize is now open until 10 March 2017 23:59:59 Central European Time (CET).